Apostolic Succession

"Wherever the bishop appears, there let the people be; as wherever Jesus Christ is, there is the Catholic Church. It is not lawful to baptize or give communion without the consent of the bishop. On the other hand, whatever has his approval is pleasing to God. Thus, whatever is done will be safe and valid."

Ignatius of Antioch -  Letter to the Smyrnaeans 8

"Let them produce the original records of their churches; let them unfold the roll of their bishops, running down in due succession from the beginning in such a manner that [that first bishop of theirs] bishop shall be able to show for his ordainer and predecessor some one of the apostles or of apostolic men "


The Most Rev. Michel Joseph Pugin, O.S.B.


Cardinal Scipione Rebiba was consecrated on May 15, 1541.

Cardinal Scipione Rebiba consecrated Cardinal Giulio Antonio Santorio on March 12, 1566.

Cardinal Giulio Antonion Santorio consecrated Cardinal Girolamo Bernerio, O.P., September 7, 1586.

Cardinal Girolamo Bernerio, O.P., consecrated Cardinal Lodovico Ludovisi on May 2, 1621.

Cardinal Lodovico Ludovisi consecrated Cardinal Luigi Caetini on June 12, 1622.

Cardinal Luigi Ludovisi consecrated Cardinal Ulderico Carpegna on October 7, 1630.

Cardinal Ulderico Carpegna consecrated Cardinal Paluzzo Albertoni on May 2, 1966.

Cardinal Paluzzo Albertoni consecrated His Holiness Benedict XIII on February 3, 1675.

His Holiness Benedict XIII consecrated His Holiness Benedict XIV on July 16, 1724.

His Holiness Benedict XIV consecrated His Holiness Clement XIII on March 19, 1743.

His Holiness Clement XIII consecrated Cardinal Bernardino Giraud on April 26, 1767.

Cardinal Bernardino Giraud consecrated Cardinal Alessndro Mattei on February 23, 1777.

Cardinal Alessandro Mattei consecrated Cardinal Pier Fracesco Galleffi on March 31, 1782.

Cardinal Pier Francesco Galleffi consecrated Cardinal Giacomo Filippo Franzoni on June 15, 1666.

Cardinal Giacomo Filippo Franzoni consecrated Cardinal Carlo Sacconi on June 8, 1851.

Cardinal Carlo Sacconi consecrated Cardinal Edward Henry Howard on June 30, 1872.

Cardinal Edward Henry Howard consecrated Cardinal Mariano Rampolla del Tindaro on December 8, 1882.

Cardinal Mariano Rampolla del Tindaro consecrated Cardinal Joaquim Arcoverde of Albuquerque Cavalcanti on October 26, 1890.

Cardinal Joaquim Arcoverde of Albuquerque consecrated Cardinal Sebastiao Leme Silveira Cintra on June 4, 1911.

Cardinal Sebastiao Leme Silveira Cintra, consecrated Monsignor Carlos Duarte Costa on December 8, 1924.

Monsignor Carlos Duarte Costa, consecrated Monsignor Luis Fernando Castillo Mendez on May 3, 1948.

Monsignor Luis Fernando Castillo Mendez, consecrated Monsignor Justo Roque Gonzalez Trimiño on March 10, 1989.

Monsignor Justo Roque Gonzalez Trimiño, consecrated Monsignor Michel Joseph Edmond Pugin, O.S.B., May 1, 1993.